TOP 15 RED VELVET SONGS

Hey everyone! Keira posting two days in a row, what is this?! I think I must’ve been abducted by aliens, but whatever. Today I’m going to be taking you through my all-time favourite Red Velvet songs (or at least 15 of them). Red Velvet has recently become one of my favourite girl groups, and I spent a good couple of hours ranking all of their songs to come up with this list, so I hope you enjoy!

Also, I’ve noticed that my music posts tend to load really slowly due to the amount of YouTube videos I embed in them, so for this one I decided to only embed a video if there are official live stages or music videos for the song, otherwise I’ve put about a 30 second clip from Spotify. Hopefully this improves the loading times, but let me know what you think!


#15: Red Flavor

Okay, so there’s a good reason why this was one of the most popular K-Pop songs during the summer when it first came out: it’s literally the embodiment of summer fun. And all of the fruit makes me hungry.


#14: Perfect 10

Red Velvet is really the perfect girl group for more R&B type groups: their vocals just fit the music style so perfectly.


#13: Power Up

note reason as to why live and not mv

Okay, so a little bit of a story to go with this one… and it all begins with why I have put a live performance in here and not the music video. I listen to so much music, that generally if the music video ends up putting me off I just don’t download the song. And Wendy’s pigtails + the girl scouts clothes in this one really put me off: I have no problem with cute concepts, but the girls are in their 20s… they’re not 9. Luckily, there was a really good performance at the Music Bank Christmas special (which I couldn’t embed here) that made me realise how much of a summery bop this is.


#12: Lucky Girl

This is just such a fun song. It’s a little bit funky, pretty unique and catchy. What more could you want?


#11: Butterflies

Usually I’m not a massive fans of songs as repetitive as this one, but it really works here. Their voices combine with the instrumentation to create this fantastical world that it’s honestly a privilege to be in for the duration of the song.


#10: Zoo

One of the things Red Velvet do best is taking a fairly common song feature/trope like the typical drop in this one, and turning it into something wholly them that you couldn’t imagine another artist coming out with. Success!


#9: All Right

A little experimental and funky, with the usual smooth slickness expected from Red Velvet’s velvet concepts is really the perfect recipe.


#8: SAPPY

So for some reason I think the group does the cuter concepts better in their Japanese stuff than their Korean stuff. This song actually gives me… upgraded Dumb Dumb vibes. I’m also a massive sucker for lower vocals, so the beginning is right up my street. In fact, the entire song is pretty vocally impressive to be honest.


#7: #Cookie Jar

Oh look, another Japanese release! I actually really disliked this song at first, because I just generally find the use of the word “Hashtag” in a song incredibly cringey, but this song, like SAPPY, combines some of their more Velvet-concept vocals with the cute funkiness of their more summery songs. Plus… cookies.


#6: Bad Boy

This song gets a lot of love, and I agree that it’s pretty damn good. The girls really came into their own with this R&B-influenced track. It’s also a lot less high-energy than some of their other tracks, which makes a good addition to their discography.


#5: Peek-A-Boo

This song has a bit of a special place in my heart, in that it was the first song of Red Velvet’s I liked. Obviously, since then I have gone back and re-listened to their previous music which I disliked at first, but this was the first one I liked. I feel like because of Red Velvet’s fairly unique sound, they’re a bit of an acquired taste. Honestly, I thank the music video for making me listen to the song all the way through.


#4: Sassy Me

Another experimental and a little bit out-there song! I am especially fond of the little bit of brass, and of course it’s an addicting song.


#3: RBB (Really Bad Boy)

Oh look! Another title track where I’ve gone for the live performance rather than the music video. And to be honest, the music video isn’t bad but it was clear that this song was supposed to be released around Halloween and then pushed back… and really, a music video that Halloween-y is a little bit distracting outside of the Halloween period, so here’s a wonderful live performance instead. This is also an incredibly experimental song which split fans, and at first I wasn’t really a fan, but I’ve since (obviously) had a massive change of heart.


#2: Kingdom Come

If I credit Peek-A-Boo with being the song that got me to listen to my first RV album… then this is the song which made me check out every single one of their other b-side tracks. This song is THAT good. Seriously, just listen to it.


#1: So Good

Okay so I’m not even sure whether this song of Kingdom Come is my favourite, but I love the experimental rhythm changes etc. in this song so I’ll just go with it.


Would you rather have a longer loading time, but get the full song for each one or is it okay like this?

What do you think of Red Velvet: do you agree with my list? Has my list made you want to go and listen to their music? Please let me know and talk to me in the comments (otherwise I’ll get lonely ;( ).

Love, Keira x.

Published by

Keira @Headphones&Hyperboles

Hi! I'm Keira and I'm the author here at Headphones and Hyperboles. It's nice to meet you :) I like to read and listen to music (obviously), but I also really like sleeping, eating chocolate and going out to eat with friends.

5 thoughts on “TOP 15 RED VELVET SONGS”

  1. i went to japan + korea in october and red flavour was still being played in stores 🙂 was p great. i love how catchy it is.
    not a fan of perfect10 or kingdom come as theyre abit slow for me ;; BUT i love everything else here 🙂

    kinda sad their debut isnt her cause it what got me into them :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha yeah it’s the kind of song that is super catchy without really getting old.

      I quite like slow songs, but they’re definitely hit-or-miss.

      Haha I guess because Yeri is my bias (+ Joy because she’s just irresistible) I kind of prefer the music from when she joined the group? So that might influence my choices a bit. But their debut is pretty good too and very colourful 🙂

      What’s your favourite RV song?

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Ugh yes, the pain of picking is real… Also, I love that variety xD Honestly my favourite thing about Red Velvet is their variety and that their music sounds like their music (it’s not generic).

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.